One Day at a Time

I’m always trying to figure things out. I’m not sure WHY I’m wired that way. My brain is ALWAYS going. It never stops. I always tell other people, take one day at a time. Yet, I don’t practice that very simple phrase. I’m always thinking about what is going to happen tomorrow …

Time is so fickle. So fast. So overwhelmingly fast. Two years turns into 10. And when you look back, it’s so deafening to attempt to remember everything that you plainly FORGOT to do. More so, didn’t have the courage to do.

I think we’re all powered by the fear of failure. We don’t want to take a leap, because if we did, it would require PURE and COMPLETE faith. It’s an overwhelming thought. Yet how liberating, if we could just DO IT? I don’t know … just what I’m thinking about in this present moment.

I wish that I could turn back the hands of time most days. Sometimes I say things I don’t mean. Do things I didn’t want to do. Not cherish every second that I was privileged to breath in and out. I hate that I’m a sinner and that I take things for granted. It makes me wonder how God looks down at us and blesses any of us at all. Especially me.

I’m thankful I’m here. RIGHT NOW. I’m thankful that I get to see my son and husband for another day. I’m thankful I get to talk to my mom on the other end of a phone line. I’m thankful that my dad drops by, just to say hi. I’m thankful that no matter where I’m at, my sisters are just a phone call away. I’m thankful that I can look out my window and see the beautiful scenery, right outside my door. I’m thankful that I can share these words – this life – these moments. Because in the end – they’re all that will ever really matter. Cherish the now. Don’t worry about tomorrow.

{Music is so cathartic. When I have all of these crazy notions, ideas, thoughts, running around inside my head, I have to turn something on to help me get through them – or better yet – get them out. I recently started listening to this band again, Sleeping At Last. Their music is so peaceful – soothing. I love just listening to the melodies – and smiling as I take it in. So thankful for the ability to hear beautiful music. Hope you enjoy it too.}

