Blogging Challenge Day 2: People. Moments. Memories.

I’ve always been the type of person that has given my all. In whatever it is I was doing – whether it’s my ‘day job’, my friendships, relationships and connection with others, photography – I just don’t have it in me to be mediocre at any of it. Perhaps that comes from the work ethic my dad instilled in me growing up. Or maybe it’s part of my DNA. Not sure, but I’m pretty darn thankful that there is this drive in me that just won’t let up. It’s hard to describe sometimes – but in simple terms, when I set my mind to something, I go for it, with all of my heart, body and soul! Even if I fail, and I have many times, I force myself to get back up, and try it again.

And here is the thing … I don’t say ANY of this to ‘toot my own horn’, because it’s really not about me … because this drive to do something – to make a difference – it’s so much bigger than me.

So what is that drives me? People. Moments. Memories.

It sounds simple – but it’s what keeps me pushing through the hard days – when things don’t work out like I think they should – or the journey just gets tough.

Life is so fragile. And as I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized the importance of GIVING time – making lasting memories. Creating moments. And really experiencing them. Time is a luxury denied to so many. I don’t understand it. I wish I could change it. But in retrospect, I’m SO thankful for the time I’ve been given … for this life I’m living. I wake each day, thankful because I get another chance to LIVE. Thankful that I get another chance to LOVE. I want others to do the same … to truly CONNECT and SHARE life with others.

I have had some close friends who’ve experienced great loss this past year. It’s made me reevaluate not only my life in general – but my relationships too. The people we are privileged to walk this life with, matter. And to be able to document those relationships – the moments when someone is making a memory … it’s a powerful thing – and I can’t even tell you how humbled I am when someone invites us into their lives in such a way.

Passion is definitely a funny thing. It moves you to ACT. It moves you to DREAM. It moves you to CHASE after the very things that sometimes, hold you back. It MOVES you to actually DO things you never thought were possible. Passion helps you believe in something much bigger than yourself. And if this journey of ours helps just one person realize that time is precious – and people matter – making memories matter – than it was all worth it. Because when it comes right down to it, all we have in the very end are our memories. ❤

2014-10-07_0002

“The falling leaves drift by the window. The autumn leaves of red and gold. I see your lips, the summer kisses, the sun-burned hands I used to hold. Since you went away the days grow long, and soon I’ll hear old winter’s song, but I miss you most of all my darling, when autumn leaves start to fall.” ~Johnny Mercer

