Blogging Challenge Day 6: Be a LIGHT {Tell Your Story}

I wrote this blog in January of this year. I thought it was quite fitting for today’s challenge … Vulnerable.

It’s so hard to put yourself out there in such a way – but when you do – and people can relate – it helps you recognize that you are NOT alone. And that others undoubtedly feel the same way too.

Life is all about the journey. And your story. Whoever you are, whatever you’ve gone through, YOU matter – and your story matters. You CAN be a light in a dark world … you can be the LIGHT for someone else. So be a LIGHT – and tell your story.

“Stories are light. Light is precious in a world so dark. Begin at the beginning. Tell a story. Make some light.”

Check out the original post HERE. Or read below. 🙂

Beauty is a funny thing. We have these ideas of it. What it is. What defines it. What it SHOULD be. Yet as we become adults, beauty is so mis-construed – you’re never really told that despite your imperfections, you still can be beautiful. You still ARE a work of art.

I’ve always struggled with body image and even more so after I had my son. Your body changes in such drastic ways after you have a child. It’s never really the same. You get little marks in places you don’t want them. Wrinkles start to show on your face. And dark circles around your eyes are even more noticeable due to lack of sleep. I’ve learned that ‘child bearing hips’ isn’t a joke! 🙂 And I’m a little rounder, where I’d like to be a little flatter.

But if I’m being honest here, I wouldn’t change ANY of it. Becoming a mother has been the greatest joy of my life and I can’t begin to imagine what my life would be like without my son Eli. He makes me laugh louder, smile often, and really, EMBRACE the beauty and simplicity of this amazing life.

My life. My story, wouldn’t be the same without him. I wouldn’t be the same without him …

I’m not gonna’ lie – there are moments when I look in the mirror and walk away feeling defeated. I don’t see what others see – what my son sees – my husband … I see my worst critic – ME.

The world will always tell you that you need to fit in this size or that size to be ‘beautiful’. But when it comes right down to it, true beauty comes from something you can’t put on your face, or put on to ‘suck it in’ … it comes from being who you are, and never losing sight of that. Being YOU IS beautiful. Because there is no one else like you. You are YOU for a reason – God doesn’t make mistakes.

Beauty on the outside doesn’t match what’s on the inside … because the outside is a mere reflection of the heart … and that has always been, and always will be TRUE beauty.

And … while sharing these photographs of myself, in the rawest form, are a little difficult, it’s an act of embracing the person I am today, and the person I’m striving to become … scars and all. The scars are what tell MY story. They are a part of me – and my life wouldn’t be the same without them.

Don’t ever be afraid to TELL your story. It’s your own – and it’s most likely remarkable! And you never know – you just might change someone’s life because of it. Scars and all.

2014-01-27_0001
2014-01-26_0002
2014-10-20_0002

14 thoughts on “Blogging Challenge Day 6: Be a LIGHT {Tell Your Story}

  1. Wow. Such a powerful post. And a very necessary post because so many need to hear this. Thank you for being so strong, and being a light to others who are still struggling with body image and insecurity. Again, thank you.

    • Jessica! Bless your sweet heart. I thank you a million times for reading and for sharing with me! I hope you know today, that YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL! Thank you so much for your kind words!!! many blessings! xoxo

  2. I love how raw and honest you are! We are always our own worst critic, but you’re right. The most beautiful people I know have a beautiful heart.

  3. YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL! Thank you for this post. I loved the photographs and the honesty in your writing. Keep it up!

  4. great post! I think as women, we all feel this at some point about our bodies, about growing older, changing, etc. Embracing it is the best way to love yourself and I love that you were bold to post the photos of yourself…you are beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

    Arica, xxo
    http://www.varnakandlollies.com

  5. There are hardly words to express how this made me feel today. How much I needed this. After getting ready for my day, I already felt defeated. Fat. Unwanted. It’s horrible how we’ve been shaped by society to feel/think/see beauty these days. But how incredible that there are so many people who are combating that every day, like yourself. I am not quite so brave as you, but I am thankful for your bravery and your words. Your encouragement. You are beautiful inside and out, that is quite evident.

    • Oh my goodness Rikki! I don’t even know what to say. ❤ But I first want you to know that YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL. No matter what you may be feeling in this moment – you ARE! You are fearfully and wonderfully made. 🙂 It's amazing how we all are really so much more connected than we think! I'm thankful to have connected with you and I'm praying for you and your journey. And never forget that YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!!! ❤

  6. I totally relate to this post…best thing is that despite the scars and stretch marks we are far beyond what we see, we are the earthly ‘angels to our mini us. Awesome post!!Cheers to motherhood!!

    http://wairimumurigi.blogspot.com

  7. Fascinating black and white photos.Thank you for visiting my blog.Best wishes.JMS

Leave a Reply

